Start a new topic

Comparing/contrasting the apps and features

I'm new to production and I was learning Serum when I decided to buy a Block.  I have the block controlling Serum inside of Ableton Live with MPE, but I am still trying to decide if I should ditch Serum for now and focus on using the MPE synths you offer (assuming they will deliver a better experience for MPE).  I love the device, but I am totally confused about the Roli software (way too many options, but I think that's the point of the Studio Player?)  Anyway, my question is about how/where best to compare and contrast the purpose and features of each app?  for example, Equator, Strobe and Cypher do similar stuff (as far as I can tell without diving into each for hours, which I refuse to do for the purpose of product selection).  So when do I need one over the other?  Why 3 diff apps?  what's the main reason for going to one vs the other?  also,  do they share sounds, presets, projects, etc?  or are they isolated like Noise?  and now with the new Beta, I dont know if I am about to test a hobbled playback version of 3 merged apps.  The name says "player" and suggests a hobbled version, like the freebie Equator version that came with my Block.  It's not a good start to be completely confused by what each app is supposed to even be used for, how they differ, and what the tradeoffs are.  Im not about to learn 5-7 apps just to control my Block and see which I like.  it's daunting.  please provide more documentation to walk newbs like me through this.  With Blocks, you're surely going to attract a new generation of synth enthusiasts and with that, people need to know what software they should care about. (and maybe this a good time to mention that I bought the Block thinking on could compose on mobile as an extension of the desktop experience.  finding out after the purchase that Noise is just a toy now because it can't share projects, sounds, wavetables, etc.)